“You’re making a mistake. Youth is wasted on the young.”

To hell with that! I’m seizing my youth. I think that I have been very privileged to have been able to have the courage to put myself in foreign situations. 
I spend my days hearing that one day I’ll understand that I’ve wasted my time. That I’ll get old and have no possessions to my name and realize that it’s too late and I should have spent my youth building my future.

No! I love my life. I think by travelling I building who I am today. I may not have a lot of possessions, but do possessions make you rich? Nah, I’m not interested in not having stories to tell when I’m old, I’m not interested in living my life for things I could buy in the future.

I feel very lucky to have been able to travel everywhere I’ve gone and to have met the people that have forever left their marks on me. Through my travels I have been able to learn about what makes people from different cultures happy. I’ve taken the lessons from others and been able to apply them to my life. I’ve been able to open my eyes to other people and learn to accept everyone without judgement. Everyone has a different way of living, a different path and a different approach to how they want to live their life. I want to live mine being happy every day. I think the easiest way to achieve that is to live a minimalist lifestyle. I don’t need much to make me happy. I understand that everyone has bad moments, but I believe that every day you should feel happiness and peace at some point. In North America I feel as though people don’t see life that way. Everyone is always working towards the next big thing wether it be a new house, car, position at work. People are always living for their futures yet not enjoying the moments that matter. The ones that they are living now and the people that they share them with. I agree that goals are important, but the people I’ve been surrounded by in Canada are never accepting of their present state. Why work 51 months just to wind down with a 7 day vacation? How are you bettering yourself as a person by saving money to buy a house? I believe that the most important parts of life are when you are opening your heart to others. And I feel like I’ve managed to do that through travel.
I feel as though Canada may not be for me. I feel very anxious when I’m there, and materialistic. I think it’s a very selfish way to live and I don’t want to put myself in a position in life that I don’t respect. So far I feel as though I relate with the culture in Europe. It’s a place where they enjoy the small moments. Spending time with friends and family. Talking about life without gossiping. Travelling. Taking care of each other.

Thanks to my years travelling I’ve managed to create an international network. I have friends and opportunities in so many different countries. I might not have gotten these opportunities through a university program, but I’ve gained so much experience because of the way I’ve chosen to live my life. I’m opened to people and their ideas. Even if I may not agree with everyone’s ideas I want to learn their thoughts. There isn’t a right or wrong way to live life, just different ways; different choices on how to handle situations. Hearing how others view situations has taught me how to take a step back and consider different possibilities on how to let it affect me.

I can say with complete surety that I am still learning about who I am, but I think I am a good person. I think I’m positive and have a good energy that touches the people around me. I’ve had many people thank me for just being me, because after speaking with me they found courage to leave their comfort zones. Others just thank me for my energy, for being a light of positivity. That’s the most amazing feeling. I don’t think there is anything more powerful than being able to make the people around you feel empowered and happy.

I truly believe that you can do no wrong when you’re in an environment that you love.
I am so happy with where I am in my life right now. I feel as ease, comfortable, safe, happy, serene. Recently I’ve been surrounded by such beautiful souls, and I believe that is so much more important than the number in my bank account or whatever possession I could have had.

Few last words – fuck them all, buy the plane ticket.

Leave a Reply

